Flourless Brownies

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been busy, and got distracted – sorry ūüė¶

I’ve been trying to eat healthier and exercise more to lose a little bit of weight, but there is one thing I can’t give up – baked goods! I LOVE me some cookies and brownies and cupcakes! So I’ve been trying to come up with healthier alternatives.¬†I found this flourless brownie recipe – with a secret ingredient ūüôā – on AllRecipes.com; don’t be scared off by the original title of the recipe because I promise that everyone I served them to LOVED them!!

I made the recipe pretty much exactly as written for Super Bowl Sunday and then made it AGAIN the next week, with the addition of baking powder, and loved it even more. The first attempt produced a “brownie” that was more like fudge – not fudge brownie, just fudge. The second attempt produced a brownie that was much fluffier and more brownie-like. Don’t get me wrong, these brownies will NOT look like a typical boxed brownie – there’s no flaky crust on top – but I just told everyone that they’re from-scratch brownies (which they are!) and they were fine to try them.

Only after I knew everyone enjoyed them did I tell them there was a secret ingredient. Then I asked them to guess what it was. I got a range of ideas, from bananas or applesauce to poop (I have a very childish friend hahaha).

One last thing: DON’T forget to line the pan with foil AND spray it with cooking spray (or a fine layer of cooking oil). And also, wait until they cool completely before serving. One last tip, I promise: they are SO much better after a day or so.

Flourless Brownies/Fudge

Prep time: 10 min | Cook time: 20 min | Serves: 16 (1 serving = 2″ x 2″ brownie)

Ingredients

  • 1 (15.5 ounce) can¬†black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2-3¬†eggs (or egg substitute), 2 eggs for fudgier texture, 3 eggs for brownie-like texture
  • 3 tablespoons¬†vegetable oil (or plain, unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup cocoa powder, depending on preference
  • 1 pinch¬†salt
  • 1 teaspoon¬†vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup¬†white sugar (or 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup packed brown sugar)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder, (omit for fudge, include for brownies)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease an 8×8 square baking dish lined with foil.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor; process until smooth & you can’t see and more chunks of black beans. You can probably use a blender for this if you don’t have a food processor – there should be enough liquid.
  3. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish. The batter will be pretty thin – much thinner than brownie batter made from a box mix.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven until the top is dry and the edges start to pull away from the sides of the pan. In my toaster oven this took 16-20 minutes. In a full-size oven this could take anywhere from 22-28 minutes. Just start checking after 15 minutes or so.

Do you ever trick people into eating “health food” or food with weird ingredient substitutions? Does it work?

Christina

Leave a Reply

