Country Fried Steak

We usually don’t eat steak. In fact, we don’t even eat ground beef much anymore because we’re trying to decrease the amount of red meat in our diet.* Have you ever tried to replace ground beef with ground turkey in tacos, chili, or burgers? Surprisingly, with the right seasonings and the right cooking time, I’ve had great results!

That being said, Ryan says he sometimes “craves” steak. Personally, I don’t get this “craving”, but it’s nice to indulge sometimes, so we try to have real beef (whether it’s steak or ground) once or twice a month. This time around, I wanted to have something home-y and comfort-food-y (is that a word? I don’t think so. Oh well, I like it.)

My inspiration: Country Fried Steak Tips in Gravy from Meet Penny. But I’m not crazy about drenching my steak tips in gravy, so I served it on the side. I also didn’t think the gravy would be flavorful enough for us, so I skipped the homemade and went the quick-and-easy route: packaged dry mix.

We had horseradish mashed potatoes (mash 1-2 Tbsp prepared horseradish, fat free sour cream, and butter with 4-5 cooked potatoes) and corn on the cob on the side.

Country Fried Steak (with Gravy!)

Prep time: 10 min | Cook time: 15 min | Serves: 3-4 (depending on side dishes)

Ingredients

For the Steak Tips:

  • Sirloin roast, cut into slightly-larger-than-bite-size pieces
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon dry (ground) mustard
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • oil for pan-frying

For the Gravy:

  • Country Gravy Mix (like this one)
  • water or milk called for on package (I used 1 cup fat free, lactose free milk and 1 cup water)
  • drippings from the last batch of country fried steak

Directions

  1. If you’re having mashed potatoes, start them now because the steak cooks up fast.
  2. Put the flour, dry mustard, salt, and pepper into a large ziplock bag or plastic container with a tight-fitting lid. Seal and shake to mix, then add meat and shake to coat every side in the flour mixture.
  3. Heat 2-3 Tbsp oil in a cast iron skillet (the higher sides, the better) over medium-high heat, until the oil is Hot Hot Hot. Add steak pieces one at a time, taking care not to overcrowd the pan or dump the excess flour into the pan. Let cook for a few minutes, flip, and allow the other side to cook. Both sides should be well-browned, but not overdone (remember, this will cook fast because the pieces are so small. I left mine slightly pink, out of preference).
  4. Carefully transfer the cooked steak to a plate lined with paper towels to absorb some of the excess oil. Between batches, get rid of the excess drippings/crusty stuff (technical term right there ;)) from the bottom of the pan and let another 1-2 Tbsp of oil heat up. After the last batch, keep the drippings that you scrape out of the pan to use in the gravy (I had 1-2 Tbsp and it was plenty.)
  5. Cook the gravy as directed on the package, add the drippings from the steak after the gravy is thickened, and simmer for just a minute or two to allow the flavors to marry. (If you want to get all fancy (or just don’t have a packet of gravy mix handy), head over to Meet Penny’s version of the recipe and copy her gravy recipe. It seems simple enough.)
  6. Serve with mashed potatoes and a veggie, for the full comfort-food effect.

Do you ever eat comfort food in the summer? For some reason I love soup and other traditionally cold-weather foods when it’s warm out.

*This may be TMI for some of you (sorry!), but I feel it’s important to share. The main reason we’re decreasing our consumption of red meat is for colon heath. I had a colonoscopy (I promise I won’t go into details in a recipe post!) with some not-so-good results last year, and my doctor suggested that less red meat would be a good thing to consider. Colon cancer and GI troubles run in my family, and since my not-so-good results, I’ve become sort of an advocate for early screening (especially in my family).  Hence, ground turkey, meatless recipes, more fish and chicken, and (hopefully) a happier colon. In case you were wondering, my follow-up colonoscopy this year was all-good. In case you weren’t wondering, too bad. Haha.

3 thoughts on “Country Fried Steak

  1. Pingback: Sesame Chicken | The Actuarial Chef

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Cheddar Chicken | The Actuarial Chef

Leave a Reply

