Blackened Salmon Tacos

We love fish tacos. No really, you don’t get it. We LOVE them. Usually I make Giada’s Tilapia Fish Tacos with Arugula (with the cutest wonton-wrapper shells), but this week I wanted fish tacos that were faster to make. Plus, I had salmon in the freezer, not tilapia, and I wasn’t sure if the flavors would really meld right with salmon because it has such a strong flavor on its own.

Enter: Blackened Salmon Tacos.

My inspiration: Alaska from Scratch’s Blackened Salmon Tacos with Avocado Corn Salsa and Cilantro Ranch Dressing. But my Blackened Salmon Fish Tacos are much much simpler and toned-down than these. Check out my version and prepare to be amazed at the simplicity.

Blackened Salmon Tacos

Prep time: 10 min | Cook time: 10 min

Ingredients

  • 1 to 1.25 pound(s) skinless salmon, roughly cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2-3 Tbsp blackening spice (I use Old Bay brand)
  • fresh cilantro (small handful)
  • 2-3 Tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice (fresh is best, but I used bottled)
  • 1-2 small Haas avocados, diced
  • Kosher salt & pepper
  • 8 small tortillas (corn or flour, your choice!)
  • 1/4 c. fat free sour cream, for serving
  • miscellaneous taco toppings (finely shredded lettuce, diced tomato, shredded cheese, etc.)

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, toss together the avocado, cilantro, 1 Tbsp oil, lime juice, and up to 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper. Refrigerate until ready to eat.
  2. Heat 1 Tbsp of the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. I used my cast iron skillet. Coat all sides of the salmon with the blackened seasoning and add to the skillet. DON’T overcrowd the skillet! I had to do this in 2-3 batches. Cook until opaque throughout and blackened, 3 to 4 minutes per side. (If you have to do multiple batches, add 1/2 Tbsp olive oil each time before you start a new batch & make sure to let it heat up!)
  3. Fill each taco with a few chunks of salmon and top with avocado/cilantro mixture. Add a dollop of sour cream and any other toppings that you’re using.

Notes

  • Most of the time, I prefer crunchy tacos to soft tacos. I just think soft tacos tend to fall apart and get gross, where hard tacos don’t. With hard tacos I can make up a couple extra for lunch the next day, but I’d never be able to do that with soft tacos!

Printable Recipe here.

Do you prefer hard- or soft-shell tacos? Why?

Leave a Reply

